World Tour In A Day 5 (Friday 26 October)

by Mat on October 1, 2012

On Friday October 26th, the band will tour the world in one day! The fifth, and now annual, World Tour In A Day event finds the band playing five shows, in five countries, in one day. It began as both a way to tour the world in a “green” way, as well as a means to showcase the medium of virtual worlds (i.e. Second Life). The band accomplishes this through streaming live video within Second Life, plus non-SL users can attend the shows at TheFollow.com or on the band’s Facebook page. Here are more details…

Friday October 26th, 2012
6AM PDT show in W. Australia at 9PM WST local time
12PM PDT show in France at 9PM CEST local time
2PM PDT show in South Africa at 11PM SAST local time
4PM PDT show in Ireland at 12AM IST local time
7PM PDT show in United States at 7PM PDT local time

All shows can be viewed at http://www.WorldTourInADay.com
You can teleport to each show within Second Life by visiting http://www.TheFollow.SL about 30 minutes before each show

Sponsor Info

The Blue Note
The Blue Note: Bringing the best live music to Columbia, Missouri for over 30 years like Johnny Cash, R.E.M., The Pixies, Black Flag, Koko Taylor, Snoop Dogg & The Flaming Lips! Upcoming shows include Deftones, Minus The Bear, Cursive, Matisyahu, & Ralphie May.
TRAX
TRAX Live Music Resource Center: Any musician with a dream of performing to the growing base of music lovers in Second Life should start at TRAX. You’ll find information on everything an aspiring musician needs to get heard, from setting up live streams to booking gigs. The owners also sponsor contests and live events, spotlighting the best new music in SL.
MetaHarpers
MetaHarpers: MetaHarpers is dedicated to the appreciation and practice of imaginative art in virtual words such as Second Life. The Inspiring Orientation is part gallery, part tutorial, dedicated to introducing new visitors to Second Life using rich multimedia content from acclaimed resident creators.
Pink Jello
Pink Jello: New, small boutique fashion store for chicks who want some style. Designs by Kiran Sporg, inspired by color and music. Mesh and non mesh items available. Casual, funky and fun!
Picsure.me
Picsure: Picsure is a mobile app that allows you to share unlimited photos to anyone, real-time, for free. Picsure also gives everyone the ability to print those photos and your Facebook photos with just a click. Simply press “Print” and the photos will be professionally printed and mailed to your doorstep within 24 hours!

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

Moslam December 1, 2012 at 12:08 PM

Heh. The tour I did in May had a bunch of band-aids in the goodie bag. Made me wdoner just how rough the tour was going to be.Anyway, it looks like a sweet ride, hope you have tons of fun.

Reply

Mat Powers December 1, 2012 at 6:00 PM

Hello Moslam, this was a tour within an online world called Second Life. We also did a live video broadcast on Facebook and our website for it too. Our most recent tour on the road was from Missouri to California and back. We played 16 shows in 16 days. You can find a post about that here in the blog, as well. Thanks for writing!

Reply

MatDeLaFollow October 24, 2012 at 11:21 PM

Linden Lab showed us some support by placing the event into the Second Life Destination Guide!
http://www.secondlife.com/destination/the-follow-world-tour-in-a-day

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: